Isolate Current Visible Layers and / Shy / Hide others

What type of scripts do you need?

Moderator: byronnash

Post Reply
lodestar08
Posts: 3
Joined: July 25th, 2010, 12:49 am

July 25th, 2010, 11:13 pm

How about a script that will Shy/Hide every layer not currently (accessible) in the Comp window.
Isolate Current Visible Layers and Shy / Hide all others

Just to automate and add to After Effects' own: in Comp Search and Select (see:http://www.motionworks.com.au/2007/06/ae_select/).
Would save me a ton of time when working with a large project (especially if it's cluttered— em... say passed on to you by another animator... not my own of course! :roll: )

Wonder if anybody would be able to give this a shot ? - since I'm not even a scripting nubee.

Thanks in advance,

dM!
adinnin
Posts: 7
Joined: June 28th, 2004, 2:29 am

July 27th, 2010, 7:09 am

Have you seen Zorro the layer tagger at AEScripts..

http://aescripts.com/zorro-the-layer-tagger/

pretty much does what you are after
lodestar08
Posts: 3
Joined: July 25th, 2010, 12:49 am

July 27th, 2010, 12:46 pm

Thanks for your reply:

Yep I love Zorro! But the only way zorro would work is if you were to assign shot numbers for each layer or time/frame range labels signifying when each layer appears (i.e. is visible in the comp window at— but this can get hairy and time consuming especially if you're working with large and messy comp .

So what if you were given this large and messy comp with a ton of layers and wanted to hide all the other layers not currently on screen in order to isolate and work only with the layers currently on screen?

Currently in After Effects you can set your mouse over on screen and control+click (right-click) to open a contextual menu and select the layer or layers in the timeline that are visible to where your mouse is at.

But what I would like (and I think would be very useful to the entire After Effects community also) is to not only check where your mouse is over but to check the entire Comp screen to see, select all layers visible with the option to hide/shy all other layers and also the option to solo the visible layers.

Sorry if I wasn't clear earlier or if this too is confusing.

Thanks,
dM
Alan Eddie
Posts: 28
Joined: January 12th, 2012, 1:36 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

August 20th, 2012, 4:07 am

I wrote a script that addresses this issue:

http://aescripts.com/isolate/


Thanks, Alan.
Alan Eddie
_______________________
www.alaneddie.com
3d Animation and VFX
RTE
Dublin
Post Reply