is there a solution for this?

What type of scripts do you need?

Moderator: byronnash

Post Reply
dosealas
Posts: 1
Joined: August 29th, 2008, 9:16 am

i am trying to figure out a way to be able to show just one layer from a pre-composed comp. for example lets say there are 5 different hand pictures (with alphas) in a precomp, i seek a method to change the hand picture from pic 3 to pic 5 without entering the pre-comp, changing opacities constantly.

what do you think?
User avatar
lloydalvarez
Enhancement master
Posts: 460
Joined: June 17th, 2004, 9:27 am
Location: New York City, NY
Contact:

You can just add an expression to the opacity channel for each layer you want to show and tie that to a slider in the parent comp.

For example if the parent comp named "Main Comp" has an expression control slider on a control layer named "Control Null" then the expression on the opacity channel of the hand pictures in the pre-comp would have an expression along the lines of this:

o = Math.floor(comp("Main Comp").layer("Control Null").effect("Slider Control")("Slider"));
if (o == index) 100 else 0

Then simply keyframe the slider to the index number of the layer you want to show. The Math.floor bit will make it work with decimals, ie 1 to 1.9 will still select layer 1.

-Lloyd
medanum6298
Posts: 1
Joined: April 14th, 2011, 1:16 am

Great post! It's very nice. Thank you so much for your post.
Post Reply