Scripts: Project Set Up and applying presets

What type of scripts do you need?

Moderator: byronnash

Post Reply
dupsta
Posts: 6
Joined: December 19th, 2007, 12:54 pm

I would love to open AE7 and run a script that sets my working space, Color depth, and have all my generic folders created and named in my project window: Footage, Precomps, and a few others. Ideally finishes with an import dialog waiting for me.


Thank so much.

Dupsta

AE7 WinXP
byronnash
Posts: 321
Joined: July 7th, 2004, 2:30 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC
Contact:

There is a script floating around that creates a default folder setup. I'll see if I can locate it. I don't think you can trigger the Import Files dialog through scripting(especially not in ae7). I'm not sure about the color depth and I would guess you can't change the workspace in scripting but I've never tried.
dupsta
Posts: 6
Joined: December 19th, 2007, 12:54 pm

Hey thanks.
I might have gotten out a head of myself with this request though.
I have just simply saved out a Default Template AE project with all these pre built. Bit depth etc.
I can open that template, save it out as the shot number and start motoring along. I really like the smart import script also.
THanks again.

DUPsta
nab
Posts: 203
Joined: November 29th, 2005, 3:00 am
Location: Royan
Contact:

Some hints if you want to try again in the future...

To add a folder:

Code: Select all

app.project.items.addFolder("Comps");
To change the project color depth:

Code: Select all

app.project.bitsPerChannel = 32;
To trigger the Import File dialog:

Code: Select all

app.executeCommand(2003);
byronnash
Posts: 321
Joined: July 7th, 2004, 2:30 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC
Contact:

Thanks nab, you've enlightened me. Where is the list of app.executeCommand(); codes?
Post Reply