Expressions/Scripts/Presets

Moderator: Paul Tuersley

 
Dan Ebberts
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 10:01 am
Location: Folsom, CA
Contact:

Re: Quick effects palette

Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:06 am

hype wrote:
Unfortunately, the palette grabs the Pete's plugin one, not the AE one. Any ideas on how I can get it to differentiate?


You could use the match name for AE's glow which is "ADBE Glo2".

Dan
 
hype
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Quick effects palette

Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:03 pm

Awesome, Dan, thanks! That worked perfectly!
if it's not fun, what's the point?
http://www.mackdadd.com
 
buck50
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 4:40 am

Re: Quick effects palette

Sat Apr 10, 2010 3:35 pm

Hey all. New to scripting. I love the idea of the script here but I am having some trouble. When I run the script nothing happens. Is there something that I should be doing first? If anyone could help I would appreciate it. Thanks for all of your hard work.
 
cfx
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:49 pm
Location: Next to Paris

Re: Quick effects palette

Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:29 am

Hi,

It's a script with "UI palette"... :idea:
- You have to copy the script file in the "ScriptUI Panels" folder (on windows : C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe After Effects CS4\Support Files\Scripts\ScriptUI Panels)
- you launch the script in the window menu...
Image

et voila !
:D
Fred
 
storaro
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 1:33 am

Re: Quick effects palette

Mon Apr 12, 2010 2:56 am

Hi Thanks allot.
as a Fusion user i'v been waiting long time for this utill!

Im trying to make use of this panel to lunch scripts as well but without any luck yet.
Is there any additional code needed for lunching up AE scripts?
Think that will make it a perfect tool.

Thanks again.
-Storaro.
 
buck50
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 4:40 am

Re: Quick effects palette

Sat Apr 17, 2010 3:48 am

cfx wrote:
Hi,

It's a script with "UI palette"... :idea:
- You have to copy the script file in the "ScriptUI Panels" folder (on windows : C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe After Effects CS4\Support Files\Scripts\ScriptUI Panels)
- you launch the script in the window menu...
Image

et voila !
:D
Fred


Thanks. I had copied it to the Scripts folder but not the ScriptUIPanels folder. It works perfectly now. Can't thank you enough.
 
manohar
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 6:58 am

Re: Quick effects palette

Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:57 am

Hey thnk u..,
i changed StaticText to all lower case.. in the script and it is working perfectly...
Nice script ...,and nice idea to create this script.. I am using it...




http://myaescripts.blogspot.com/
 
manohar
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 6:58 am

Re: Quick effects palette

Wed May 05, 2010 8:25 am

Hi there...,
I modified this script to match my regular workflow...
my modifications are..
1. Added Help Tips to all the buttons..
2. Added a 'Drop Down List' to use more effects other than buttons..

here is the look of UI...
Image
Attachments
Quick_Effects.rar
Quick_Effects.jsx
(2.52 KiB) Downloaded 730 times
 
cfx
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:49 pm
Location: Next to Paris

Re: Quick effects palette

Wed May 05, 2010 12:02 pm

Excellent job ! :D
I like it 8) 8) 8)
 
manohar
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 6:58 am

Re: Quick effects palette

Thu May 06, 2010 1:50 am

hey.. thanx...
You said that you will try to customize this script later,
with which one can load the list of effects in a preference text...
how that UI look like.., :roll: tell me what that customized UI will contain and I will try to make it ... :) :)
 
slawes
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 12:38 pm
Location: LA, California

Re: Quick effects palette

Tue May 25, 2010 3:53 pm

This is a super handy script.
Thanks so much.

Anyone know how to get the specific names to each effect ? I am trying to apply Frischluft Depth of Field, but I can't seem to find the call name for it. Are they stored in a specific location ?

Many thanks,
Stephen
 
Fred Vianna
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 4:10 pm

Re: Quick effects palette

Tue Jun 08, 2010 8:58 am

Is possible to create a palete, not with effects or presets, but wit basic functions, like
create a new solid, create a null, controling the camera ( in the AE, to move
the camera, you need all the time to click in the button of camera
movements, open the tree options, and spending time and time, blá, blá, blá ...
Is possible to transform all these actions in buttons like the
palete you create ?

Have an example ?

Thanks ... Fred Vianna
 
cfx
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:49 pm
Location: Next to Paris

Re: Quick effects palette

Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:01 am

Of course... Yes, it's possible ! :mrgreen:

For example :
This function create new solid for the active comp...
You have to "connect" this function to a button ( the v1 of my script is a good example...)
function NewSolid(){
   app.beginUndoGroup("New Solid");
    var comp = app.project.activeItem;
    var new_solid = comp.layers.addSolid([.5,.5,.5], "Quick Solid", comp.width,comp.height,comp.pixelAspect,comp.duration);
    app.endUndoGroup();
}

almost all after effects is accessible with script... :wink:
Now you have to read after effects scripting guide http://www.adobe.com/products/aftereffects/pdfs/aftereffectscs3_scripting_guide.pdf

There is lots of example here...

8)

Cfx
 
Simma
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:57 pm

Re: Quick effects palette

Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:20 am

This looks really cool. Would it be possible to create a button that makes a adjustment layer and then makes that a guide layer? This would come in handy when working with LUTs. Maybe it's even possible for a button to create an adjustment layer, make it a guide layer, and then add an animation preset to that layer? That would be fantastic!
 
cfx
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:49 pm
Location: Next to Paris

Re: Quick effects palette

Wed Jun 09, 2010 5:12 am

All is possible... 8)

function LutGuide(){
   app.beginUndoGroup("Quick LUT");
    var comp = app.project.activeItem;
    var new_solid = comp.layers.addSolid([.5,.5,.5], "Quick LUT", comp.width,comp.height,comp.pixelAspect,comp.duration); // add solid in  comp
    comp.layer(1).guideLayer=true;
    comp.layer(1).adjustmentLayer=true;
    var myPreset = File("C:/Program Files (x86)/Adobe/Adobe After Effects CS4/Support Files/Presets/Image - Utilities/Levels - video to computer.ffx");
    comp.layer(1).applyPreset(myPreset);
    app.endUndoGroup();
}


:D
Now --> http://www.adobe.com/products/aftereffects/pdfs/aftereffectscs3_scripting_guide.pdf

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests