Expressions/Scripts/Presets

Moderator: Paul Tuersley

 
jfotter
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:53 pm

LUTS and Scripting

Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:59 pm

Does anyone know how to access the file path that is used in the "Apply Color LUT" effect in AE CS 5.5. I would like to automate the application of LUTS but I need to be able to dynamically apply the path to the LUTS.

Imagine you have 100 shots and each one has their own LUT. I want to write a script that uses the shotname to find the proper LUT and apply it and then be able to render out of After Effects with that LUT applied

Any thoughts?

Jason
 
Simma
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:57 pm

Re: LUTS and Scripting

Sat Jan 07, 2012 4:36 am

Unfortunately you can't acces that. A workaround is to save the lut as an animation preset and add the animation preset with your script.
 
jfotter
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:53 pm

Re: LUTS and Scripting

Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:36 pm

That's what I was finding. Does anyone know of another way to do this? I looked into LUT Buddy but it looked like the same problem. Does anyone know of another way to deal with LUTS in After Effects
 
Simma
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:57 pm

Re: LUTS and Scripting

Tue Jan 10, 2012 11:44 am

As much as I'd like it as well I don't think there is a way to set LUTs via scripting. However, speaking of LUTs in AE, you should look into Brendan Bolles OpenColorIO plug-in. It great and fills a gap in the current workflow. It's still in beta and you can download it at http://fnordware.com/OpenColorIO.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest