Expressions/Scripts/Presets

Moderator: Paul Tuersley

 
phase4
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:16 am

Create a motion path from a script?

Thu Mar 14, 2013 4:58 am

The answer is probably no but I'd thought to ask anyway. Is it possible to create a motion path from a mask through a script?
Normally you'd select the "mask path" property, press copy, select the the "position" property from another object and press paste.
To optimize my workflow it would be nice if this could be automated with a script. Is this possible?

Rob
 
Dan Ebberts
Posts: 319
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 10:01 am
Location: Folsom, CA
Contact:

Re: Create a motion path from a script?

Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:30 pm

I haven't tried it, but I'm guessing it would be possible by having the script issue menu commands combined with selecting/deselecting the appropriate properties. Pretty much mimicking the way you do it by hand. Depending on exactly what you're trying to do though, you might need AE CS6 so the script can give focus to the appropriate comp.


Dan
 
phase4
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:16 am

Re: Create a motion path from a script?

Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:33 am

Wow Dan, thanks for replying and showing me the right direction. Using app.executeCommand() is working perfectly.
I even managed to move the (AE defaulted) first and last keyframes of the motion path afterwards, with help from this document:
http://www.seventy75five.com/public/misc/multicopy.jsx

Thanks a lot!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests