Enhance tracking by scaling corner pin

Preset exchange

Moderators: Disciple, zlovatt

Post Reply
malex
Posts: 20
Joined: May 21st, 2004, 3:03 pm

May 26th, 2004, 5:03 am

Problem : when you tracked a layer and created a corner pin effect that is applied to the layer you are applying to track to, it is usually hard to scale or change the corner pin's size without manually moving all the points (pain in the *!#). Here is the solution (Offered by Donat van Bellinghen)

When applied to a corner pinned layer, it creates a new corner pin effect (you'll have to disable your own corner pin effect) and adds a slider control. Tweak this slider control and you'll see you can 'scale' the corner pin effect while maintaining the same shape (the four new segments remain parallel to the old ones). I'd like to see this kind of control built in the corner pin effect.

http://aczet.free.fr/AE/corner_pin_enlarge.ffx.zip
Fuseman
Posts: 1
Joined: January 16th, 2008, 6:02 pm

January 17th, 2008, 1:46 am

Hi, i find the preset very useful! thanks for this! however, I'd like to know how to tweak this preset to be able to control the horizontal and vertical scale separately, im currently working on a project right now that involves a panning camera with a bit of perspective movement and a moving subject. for this i have made the corner pin really smaller than usual to be able to match the motion without hitting the subject. any tips on how to tweak this would be very much appreciated!

Cheers!!

Darwin
User avatar
Disciple
Posts: 137
Joined: June 5th, 2004, 8:05 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

January 18th, 2008, 12:20 pm

Well, you can offset each point separately, or tie groups of points to different sliders...
If you attach a sample project I can give it a go.

Alex
slawes
Posts: 25
Joined: December 9th, 2006, 12:38 pm
Location: LA, California

September 16th, 2008, 12:51 am

Does anyone know (maybe Donat) where that handy preset for scaling the corner pin has gone - the link seems to be broken.

Thanks,
Stephen
hype
Posts: 94
Joined: November 27th, 2006, 11:08 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

September 16th, 2008, 9:50 am

If you use the CC Corner Pin, which ships and installs with AE, you can do this same thing. It has it built in.
if it's not fun, what's the point?
http://www.mackdadd.com
slawes
Posts: 25
Joined: December 9th, 2006, 12:38 pm
Location: LA, California

September 16th, 2008, 10:00 am

Thanks Sean. I have actually been using the CC corner pin instead for that very reason. Unfortunately I want to go beyond the +200 that it gives you to expand the pin.
I'm sure that the preset must have an expression in there somewhere, if some kind soul could just post the maths behind it, I would be super greatful.

Thanks,
Stephen
hype
Posts: 94
Joined: November 27th, 2006, 11:08 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

September 16th, 2008, 6:32 pm

Are you just using the slider or actually typing a number in? I know sometimes in AE the sliders stop at a certain number, but if you click the number and type it in yourself, it will do much more. Just a thought. You've probably tried it already.
if it's not fun, what's the point?
http://www.mackdadd.com
Post Reply