Expressions/Scripts/Presets

Moderators: Disciple, zlovatt

 
Jorritschulte
Topic Author
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: The Netherlands

TV Noise (new Version 1.5)

Sun Jun 07, 2009 2:38 pm

This Preset is using A Custom Effect
How To instal:
place The 'Jorrit Schulte' Folder in your preset folder

Go into the After effects Folder, inside of 'Support Files' and open PresetEffects.xml
Scroll down to the end, and right Above </Effects>
paste the code that's inside of PresetEffect.xml (i like to hit Enter a couple of times before </Effects> first)

Or watch Video Tutorial on how to instal:
http://vimeo.com/8616238
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

With this Preset you can create noise that would appear on a TV with bad conection,
you will find these kind effects for example in Horror Movies like 'SAW', spy movies Etc.

You have Lots of controll with many sliders etc.

TV Noise 1.5 Video Demonstration:
Image

1.2 Update
When i was working with this preset, i realized i missed something, these things i had to do by hand, but it is just a little bit easier to include it, so here are the updates:

    Stretch Noise Slider
    Smooth Noise Checkbox
    Blur Slider (Box Blur)
    Vignette Group (1 Checkbox 4 Sliders)
    Noise Contrast Slider (under Color Correction)
    a tiny Color Expression update.

1.2.1 Update
New in this version:

    Random Seed option
    Updated, better organized UI
    Scanlines Aspect ratio "Bug" Fixed

1.5 Update
a big update, cool new features added, feels really advanced
New in this version:

    Looks good in All apect ratio's and Comp Sizes
    TV Noise stops moving Bug Fixed
    Random Seed Fixed
    new more advanced Scan Lines group added
    old Scan Lines now called 'Simple Scan lines' new one 'Scan Lines'
    TV Slide Group
    Screen Distort Slider (under Distortion)
    'Little Noise' now called 'Tiny Noise'
    Colorize Tiny Noise checkbox added
    Some Other Little Fixes

Like This Preset? Consider Donating!

€: Image
$: Image

This is what keeps Me Roling Guys! :wink:

Follow me on Twittah:
Image
to get updates, Previews of upcomming Custom effects and other little Goodies.
Attachments
TV Noise v1.5.zip
Presets:
TV Noise 1.5
(11.65 KiB) Downloaded 3202 times
Last edited by Jorritschulte on Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:46 am, edited 12 times in total.
 
Yenaphe
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 6:30 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: TV Noise Preset

Sun Jun 07, 2009 3:08 pm

Very nice ! Thx !
 
Navstar
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:41 pm

Re: TV Noise Preset

Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:43 am

I don't understand where to place the "CustomEffect.xml" file. Can you clarify?
 
Jorritschulte
Topic Author
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: TV Noise Preset

Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:14 am

Navstar wrote:
I don't understand where to place the "CustomEffect.xml" file. Can you clarify?

When you go into the After effects Folder, go inside of 'Support Files' and open PresetEffects.xml
Scroll down to the end, and right Above </Effects> (i like to hit Enter a couple of times first)
You paste the code that's inside of PresetEffect.xml

Hope this helps :wink:
 
Navstar
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:41 pm

Re: TV Noise Preset

Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:32 pm

And what does that do? (If I don't do it, does it make the script unusable?)

I do not have a Support Files folder inside my AE folder. And I can't find "PresetEffects.xml" any where on my HD.
 
Jorritschulte
Topic Author
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: TV Noise Preset

Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:58 am

Navstar wrote:
And what does that do? (If I don't do it, does it make the script unusable?)

I do not have a Support Files folder inside my AE folder. And I can't find "PresetEffects.xml" any where on my HD.


this will 'Group' all the Expression Controlls into one effect.
you can use the preset, but you might get an error message and 'Missing:' in front of the Custom effect. (Just like the lightsaber preset from Videocopilot)
but you can probably still use it :wink:
 
nicholaspatten
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 11:51 am

Re: TV Noise Preset

Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:03 pm

Solution:

On A Mac:
To enter the 'CustomEffect.xml' content in Preseteffects.xml go to your Adobe After Effects folder and right click on "Adobe After Effects CS4.app" and click "Show Package Contents".
Then go to Contents > Resources > PresetEffects.xml and then right click on PresetEffects.xml and open in an Editor (I use BBEdit or Dreamweaver), then also open the file "CustomEffect.xml" that came with TV Noise Input and copy everything in the "CustomEffect.xml" file and then go to the opened PresetEffects.xml and go to the very bottom and hit enter a few times right above the bottom "</Effects>" line and then paste all the contents from "CustomEffect.xml" and then save. (Make sure that </Effects> is still at the very bottom)

This should do the trick :)

Nicholas Patten
@nicholaspatten
 
)orgen
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 4:12 am

Re: TV Noise Preset

Wed Jul 29, 2009 2:42 am

awesome!...thanks :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest