Best way to populate a drop down menu, for cross session use

Find out why the . goes before the /

Moderator: Paul Tuersley

Post Reply
blindchild
Posts: 14
Joined: February 8th, 2009, 2:19 pm

February 16th, 2009, 12:01 pm

Hello all,

I am working on creating a drop down with information that I want to share across projects and sessions. I also want the user to be able to add information to this drop down if they need to.

Is it possible to populate a drop down using a text file, and also to be able to open, add information, save and close the text file when a user adds an entry to the drop down.

Or is there a better way to do this?

Thanks!

Ross
User avatar
lloydalvarez
Enhancement master
Posts: 460
Joined: June 17th, 2004, 9:27 am
Location: New York City, NY
Contact:

February 17th, 2009, 12:16 pm

You should be able to populate a drop down using all the methods you mentioned.

-Lloyd
blindchild
Posts: 14
Joined: February 8th, 2009, 2:19 pm

February 18th, 2009, 9:04 am

Hi Lloyd!

Thanks for getting back to me.

I have been trying to create a drop down that will read a text file as well as add new entries to the text file for a few days now (working on it during renders and between projects). But still cant seem to get it to work...I will give it another day and see if I can crack it...if not would it be ok if I post my WIP script and if you have time you could take a quick look and tell me where I've gone wrong?

Its driving me crazy...

Thanks

R
User avatar
lloydalvarez
Enhancement master
Posts: 460
Joined: June 17th, 2004, 9:27 am
Location: New York City, NY
Contact:

February 18th, 2009, 9:22 am

Take a look at my zorro script http://aescripts.com/tag/zorro I populate the tags pulldown everytime you switch a mode or comp. maybe that will help you as reference

-Lloyd
Post Reply