Render Queue Settings

Find out why the . goes before the /

Moderator: Paul Tuersley

Post Reply
Hofuzz
Posts: 2
Joined: January 20th, 2005, 11:25 pm

Hello,

I'm wrapping up a script that outputs a custom formatted text log file of the Render Queue Item settings, using the RenderQueue object and whatnot, but I'm having trouble finding out the object/variable for the "Render Settings" (Best Settings/Draft/DV, etc) field,. :? any advice or pointers much appreciated.

cheers,
hofuzz
byronnash
Posts: 321
Joined: July 7th, 2004, 2:30 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC
Contact:

Hofuzz, check this script out. Sorry for pasting it in here, it's not that long. This script applies Render Settings and Output Module templates to items in the render queue. As far as I know, you cannot access very many settings in the queue. You can load templates by name however. Hope this helps some.


// Byron Nash 9-2004
//
// Preview Maker
//
// Select a comp to make a small quicktime and associated thumbnail image.
// Requires a Render Setting template named "Preview_Web" and "Thumbnail_Web"
// Requires an Output Module template names "Preview_Web" and "jpeg"
//

//Set up template variables
var movRS = "Preview_Web"; //Render Setting Template for Movie File
var thumbRS = "Thumbnail_Web"; //Render Setting Template for Thumbnail File
var movOM = "Preview_Web"; //Output Module Template for Movie File
var thumbOM = "jpeg"; //Output Module Template for Thumbnail File

var myComp = app.project.activeItem;
if(myComp instanceof CompItem) {
var renderLoc = folderGetDialog("Select a render destination...");
var stillTime = myComp.time;
var compName = myComp.name;

//Add a quicktime to the queue
app.project.renderQueue.items.add(myComp); //add item to the Render Queue
var renderIndex = app.project.renderQueue.numItems; //count the items
var qItem = app.project.renderQueue.item(renderIndex);
qItem.outputModules[1].applyTemplate(movOM); //apply template for quicktime
qItem.applyTemplate(movRS); //apply render setting
var curOM = qItem.outputModules[1];
curOM.file = new File(renderLoc.toString() + "/" + myComp.name + "_Preview.mov"); //rename file

//Clear the values
renderIndex = "";
qItem = "";
curOM = "";

//Add a thumbnail image to the Queue
app.project.renderQueue.items.add(myComp); //add item to the Render Queue
renderIndex = app.project.renderQueue.numItems; //count the items
qItem = app.project.renderQueue.item(renderIndex);
qItem.outputModules[1].applyTemplate(thumbOM); //apply template for quicktime
qItem.applyTemplate(thumbRS);
qItem.timeSpanDuration = 0.0333333;
qItem.timeSpanStart = stillTime;
curOM = qItem.outputModules[1];
curOM.file = new File(renderLoc.toString() + "/" + myComp.name + "_Thumbnail_[#].jpg");


app.project.renderQueue.showWindow(true); //bring the RQ window to the front

//app.project.renderQueue.render() //start the render
//app.project.renderQueue.item(1).outputModules.name
}
else{
alert("Select a comp you moron!");
}

//Clear everything out
renderIndex = "";
qItem = "";
curOM = "";
Hofuzz
Posts: 2
Joined: January 20th, 2005, 11:25 pm

Thanks for the example Byron, wish I looked harder before I posted, I basically wrote the same script :lol:

I guess it's true there's no way to find out the currently selected "Render Settings" template inside a script? I'm puzzled why they would have it for 'Output module' template but not 'Render Settings' :?
Post Reply