Script advice

Find out why the . goes before the /

Moderator: Paul Tuersley

Post Reply
)orgen
Posts: 34
Joined: August 28th, 2006, 4:12 am

Hi, I'm attempting to create a ui panel for our promo producers where they can input data into set layers in a project and replace a videofile. They should also be able to send the project to render in the background and I found a script for that.

Being new to scripting I have a few questions;

Why does this work
alert(theComp.layer(1).text.sourceText.value;
and not this?
theComp.layer(1).text.sourceText.value="what?";

How do I reference a comp or layer based on name and not index?

Can I get a comp to highlight based on a dropdownlist?

Can I get the script to open a new project based on a dropdownlist?

I hope someone can help. Thank you! ;)
Jorgen
)orgen
Posts: 34
Joined: August 28th, 2006, 4:12 am

Ok Im starting understand how little I actually understand about this, but at least figured out how to set the text value:

app.project.item(1).layer(1).property("sourceText").setValue(newText);

Would still appreciate any input on the other two questions!
)orgen
Posts: 34
Joined: August 28th, 2006, 4:12 am

Yess...finally starting to figure this out, cancel those questions ;)
)orgen
Posts: 34
Joined: August 28th, 2006, 4:12 am

Can I start a ram preview with predetermined settings from a script?
drockne
Posts: 13
Joined: March 2nd, 2012, 10:10 am

I know very little on how to use this command, but one of the scripts I wrote uses this to activate a ram preview. Best of luck. Let us know how it works.

thisComp.ramPreviewTest("",1,"");
)orgen
Posts: 34
Joined: August 28th, 2006, 4:12 am

That works great, thank you drockne!!
Post Reply