Starting frames in Timecode property

Find out why the . goes before the /

Moderator: Paul Tuersley

Post Reply
payal1711
Posts: 12
Joined: August 3rd, 2004, 7:43 pm

Hi,

I have been trying to change the Starting Frame field in the Timecode property of a layer.

How is it done?

I have tried something like this

var myFolder = app.project.item(i);

myFolder.layer(d).property("Effects").property("Timecode").timecodeStartFrame.setValue(85);

But there is no suche method as timecodestartframe.

Does anyone know how to do this?
Paul Tuersley
Posts: 704
Joined: June 5th, 2004, 7:59 am
Location: London, UK

To get a script to set the Starting Frame parameter of a Timecode effect that had already
been applied to a layer, you'd use something like:

curLayer.Effects.property("Timecode").property("Starting Frame").setValue(85);

Paul T
austin
Posts: 9
Joined: June 21st, 2005, 2:08 pm

Paul Tuersley wrote:To get a script to set the Starting Frame parameter of a Timecode effect that had already
been applied to a layer, you'd use something like:

curLayer.Effects.property("Timecode").property("Starting Frame").setValue(85);

Paul T
Is there an easy way to get the current timecode of a layer? Or convert the time in seconds to the current timebase?

preferably without having to use the timecode effect. I'm just trying to get the current position for a filename for a still.
Paul Tuersley
Posts: 704
Joined: June 5th, 2004, 7:59 am
Location: London, UK

I'm not quite sure what you mean. Are you trying to find the frame number of a layer at the current time in the composition. i.e like opening that layer's layer window and reading the current time displayed there?

Can you explain a bit more about what you are/were trying to do.

Paul T
Post Reply