Create Counter that Increments By Marker

Moderators: Disciple, zlovatt

cjdavis

In AE I have a text layer with a starting value of "0" and an adjustment layer I've brought over from PPro that has the markers that I need to reference. I'm trying to create a counter by writing an expression that will increase by 1 the text layer value for each marker in the adjustment layer.

I've written several expressions for the text layer's Source Text property...

Code: Select all

text.sourceText
...but none of them seem to work. I've tried:

var marks = thisComp.marker;
for (var i; i <= marks.numKeys; i++){
	text.sourceText.valueAtTime(marks.key(i).time, (text.sourceText.value +1));
}
and another based on

while (x < thisComp.duration) {code to adjust text at each marker}
I'm new to AE scripting and expressions, but have dabbled in JavaScript and powershell and I have the docs for AE expressions and scripting available so this seems like it should be fairly simple yet I can't seem to figure this out. I'm not looking for a complete solution, just help on where I'm going wrong.

EDIT: To make things more frustrating, I can achieve the effect manually.
pablohotsauce

You're trying to make the text layer show the most recent marker index, so that whenever the time indicator passes a marker the text layer increments by one?

let myMarkers = thisComp.layer("name of your marker layer").marker;
let n = myMarkers.nearestKey(time).index; // get index of the closest key in time
if (time < myMarkers.key(n).time) { n--; } // make sure n == most recent key index only
n;
cjdavis

Apologies for taking so long to reply...I've been playing around with several options trying to figure out a solution. Unfortunately I don't think an expression will achieve what I'm looking for.