Page 1 of 1

Get all effects used in project

Posted: May 31st, 2011, 6:16 pm
by ernpchan
Is it possible to get all the effects used in a project through a script?

Re: Get all effects used in project

Posted: May 31st, 2011, 8:20 pm
by XANT0
I think yes
before,makes a new comp

myComp = app.project.item(index);
mySolid = myComp.layers.addSolid(color , name, width, height, pixelAspect , duration);
myEffect = mySolid.property("Effects").addProperty("effect name");


for example
something like that :

myComp = app.project.item(1);
mySolid = myComp.layers.addSolid([0.0,0.0,0], "my Solid One",848, 480, 1.07,25);
myEffect = mySolid.property("Effects").addProperty("Ramp");

You want it? ^^'

Re: Get all effects used in project

Posted: May 31st, 2011, 8:38 pm
by ernpchan
This looks to be more about adding an effect. I'd like to see what effects have already been applied in a project.

Re: Get all effects used in project

Posted: June 1st, 2011, 3:02 am
by Paul Tuersley
I've written this script that does it:
http://aescripts.com/pt_effectsearch/

Re: Get all effects used in project

Posted: June 1st, 2011, 1:00 pm
by ernpchan
Paul Tuersley wrote:I've written this script that does it:
http://aescripts.com/pt_effectsearch/
Thanks Paul. Is there a way to access your script through another script? I want to search my comp for specific plug-ins to determine which render group on our network to use. It looks like your script can handle the search part but I need to pass that info onto my render submit script.

Re: Get all effects used in project

Posted: June 6th, 2011, 12:41 am
by Paul Tuersley
It isn't possible to access pt_EffectSearch through another script in the way you want. You would have to create your own code for searching for effects, which would involve searching every layer of every comp in the project.

Re: Get all effects used in project

Posted: June 6th, 2011, 10:07 am
by ernpchan
Thanks Paul.

Someone over on CGTalk posted a solution to this so I'm good.