Page 1 of 1

Alpha interpretation on import and...

Posted: April 3rd, 2006, 5:41 pm
by everyday
Hi all,

I want to write a simple import script that will (At the mo I am altering SmartImport)
- import a sequence
- Set alpha to Premultiplied with black
- Force alphabetical naming ( thats working now )
- and set Pix Aspect ratio


and it will apply those settings to the currently importing footage.

I read the AE spripting guide and got the info:

app.project.item(index).mainSource.alphaMode.PREMULTIPLIED;

and that didn't work, so I tried

app.project.item(i).mainSource.alphaMode = AlphaMode.PREMULTIPLIED;

as suggested by Paul here: viewtopic.php?t=311&highlight=alpha

(Thanks Paul)

and indeed that does work, but on already imported footage.

What do you guys think?

Posted: April 4th, 2006, 5:46 am
by byronnash
Can't you just set that after it's imported?

Posted: April 5th, 2006, 1:03 pm
by everyday
hmmm, perhaps, how would I change that info when it is sitting in the project bin window and not the timeline? I may have 50 things in my project and to try and figure out the (index)number that is associated to the latest piece of footage that has dropped in there somewhere seems too random?

OK even writing this reply makes me think i'm missing something here. Sorry I dont know much about programming yet. Any ideas?

Posted: April 5th, 2006, 1:46 pm
by byronnash
When an item is imported, it comes in selected. What you need to do is deselect everything in your script before the import. Then, after the import you have a bunch of selected items. You will then loop through those items and specify the settings you need. Check out http://www.redefinery.com, it has some good examples of finding what's selected and whatnot.